Owner Steve Bach Started Best Of The West Tours In 2016
Steve Grew Up Here Ranching – Camping – Hiking – Hunting & Fishing – Skiing – Motorcycling
Owned & Operated Appliance Outlet For 15 Years & Our Family Has Owned Eight Motels In Rapid City
Driver/ Tour Guide Dale Schaible
Dale Been Doing Tours For Seven Years & This Is His Second Year Touring With Us
Dale Grew Up Near Mobridge SD On A Dairy Farm. Dale & His Brother Still Have The Family Home Stead That Has Been In The Family For 180 Years
Dale Came To the Black Hills When He Was 11 Years Old On Vacation & Said I Want To Live There Someday
Dale Was In The Navy Visiting 16 Countries & Has Lived On The East & West Coast
Dale Worked Strip Mining Bentonite For Many Years In South Dakota. He Is A History Buff Of The Black Hills
Dale Loves Fishing & Motorcycling On His Three Wheeler
History Of Frank Teeters Steve’s Great Grandfather, Owned & Operated N.W. March Stagecoach Line
Grandpa Was Friends With Chief Sitting Bull That Had A Powwow On His Ranch Near Springfield South Dakota
Below Is A Picture From The Powwow
Frank Teeters was born in Ohio in 1856 and came to the Dakotas in 1873, settling near Yankton.
He took up stagecoach driving soon after that, driving the first coach from Chapell Creek to Pierre. He later drove stage from Yankton to Fort Randall, later buying the stage line with two coaches and 14 horses. For several years he ran the line to Fort Randall, the route followed being the road through Bon Homme, Springfield, Shagle Ranch Crossing on Choteau Creek, Greenwood and on to White Swan where the crossing was made to Randall on the site of the present Fort Randall dam.
In those days there was little trouble with the Indians in the area, though further west in the state there was considerable trouble over the possession of the Black Hills.
Mr. Teeters got $20.00 per month for stage coach driving. He drove stage in 1878 from Yankton to Nebraska for the N. W. March line. After several years in the stage business, he settled on a farm west of Springfield.
They farmed west of Springfield until 1918, when they moved to Springfield.